Sun. Sep 19th, 2021
Louise Glück

The Noble Prize in its 2020 edition has awarded the American poet, Louise Glück the Literature plaque “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”

Prof. Louise Glück launched into the art with her debut Firstborn in 1968. Just after entering into the poetic world, she was adjudged one of the most prominent poets in American contemporary literature. Interestingly, the Noble Prize is an addition to many of her honours including Pulitzer Prize (1993) and the National Book Award (2014).

To her credit, Louise Glück Louise has published twelve collections of poetry and some volumes of essays on poetry. She cut an outstanding niche for herself in the USA and abroad with collections like The Triumph of Achilles (1985) and Ararat (1990).

In her writings, the poet doesn’t portray works on only the shifting conditions in life but also on radical change and rebirth. You can check one of her most celebrated works with which she earned the Pulitzer Prize dubbed The Wild Iris written in 1992.

I did not expect to survive,
earth suppressing me. I didn’t expect
to waken again, to feel
in damp earth my body
able to respond again, remembering
after so long how to open again
in the cold light
of earliest spring –
afraid, yes, but among you again
crying yes risk joy in the raw
wind of the new world.

Louise Elisabeth Glück is an American poet and essayist. She was born April 22, 1943, in New York City. Also, she is the elder of two surviving daughters of Daniel Glück, a businessman, and Beatrice Glück (née Grosby), a homemaker.

The 2020 edition of The Noble Prize awards come off December 10, 2020. During last year, the Prize for Literature was awarded to Peter Handke.

Leave a Reply